We are open today.(10:00-20:00)

Carla Rippey, Fire, 2010. From the series: Immolation, 2009-2019 © Carla Rippey, Prix Pictet

The Tokyo Photographic Art Museum will adhere to relevant guidelines and take necessary measures to prevent the spread of the novel coronavirus. We ask for your understanding regarding inconveniences for this time. [Notices to Visitors]

Prix Pictet


Nov. 20, 2021Jan. 23, 2022

  • Nov. 20, 2021Jan. 23, 2022
  • Closed Mondays (except when Monday falls on a holiday, in which case the museum is open and closed the following day)
  • Admission:Free

The International Photography Award Prix Pictet was founded by the Pictet Group in 2008 and is known as one of the most prestigious photography awards in the world. The Prix Pictet has one theme each time in an 18-month cycle and aims to elicit discussion and dialogue on sustainability. The theme for the 9th edition is "Fire". This exhibition will feature the works of 13 shortlisted artists who were presented at the Arles International Photography Festival in July this year.

The winners will be announced at the opening of the FIRE exhibition, which will be held at the V&A Museum in the UK on December 15.

The shortlisted photographers are:
Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige (Lebanon)
Rinko Kawauchi (Japan)
Sally Mann (USA)
Christian Marclay (USA/ Switzerland)
Fabrice Monteiro (Belgium/Benin)
Lisa Oppenheim (USA)
Mak Remissa (Cambodia)
Carla Rippey (Mexico)
Mark Ruwedel (USA)
Brent Stirton (South Africa)
David Uzochukwu (Austria/Nigeria)
Daisuke Yokota (Japan)

Founded in 2008 by the Pictet Group in Switzerland, the Prix Pictet has gained global recognition for showcasing leading photographers’ contributions to the debate about the most pressing social and environmental challenges of today. The seven previous laureates are Benoît Aquin (Water), Nadav Kander (Earth), Mitch Epstein (Growth), Luc Delahaye (Power), Michael Schmidt (Consumption) and Valérie Belin (Disorder), Richard Mosse (Space) and Joana Choumali(Hope).

[more iinformation]Prix Pictet (Official Site)

The Jury for the ninth cycle of the Prix Pictet is:
Sir David King, FRS (Chair), Founder and Chair, Centre for Climate Repair, University of Cambridge
Duncan Forbes, Director, Department of Photography, V&A Museum
Emma Bowkett, Director of Photography, FT Weekend Magazine
Professor Herminia Ibarra, Charles Handy Professor of Organisational Behaviour, London Business School
Jeff Rosenheim, Joyce Frank Curator in Charge, Photographs, Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York,
Joana Choumali, Winner Prix Pictet ‘Hope’ (2019)
Philippe Bertherat, President, Musée d’art Moderne et Contemporain, Geneva
Shahira Fahmy, founder and Principal, Shahira Fahmy Architects, Cairo.

[Contact]Prix Pictet
mail: prixpictet@candlestar.co.uk

*The schedule is subject to change. Any further changes will be announced.

Organized by Prix Pictet
Co-organized by Tokyo Photographic Art Museum (operated by Tokyo Metropolitan Foundation for History and Culture)
Patronage by Embassy of Switzerland in Japan